Research project

Research for a (semi-)automatic detection of refugee boats on the Mediterranean Sea

This campaign to collect data exists in the realm of a research project at the Univ.  and the Jade Univ. of Oldenburg. It’s goal is the detection of  the inherently distressed inflatables using satellite data.

This effort tries to meet the ongoing humanitarian crisis on the Mediterranean Sea.  Emerging methods in the domains of Geoinformatics, Remote Sensing and pattern recognition are developed and implemented to support Search&Rescue missions on the water.

What is the plan?

The campaign has an 12 x 3m metre inflatable at its disposal; it is one of that kind, which are often used by refugees to cross the Mediterranean Sea between Africa and Europe.

That boat is now used  to collect satellite images.  For that, the vessel is placed on the Müggelsee in Berlin right at the time when the scientific satellite passes over to collect data from the boat. The data (imaging technologies of different kind of electromagnetic wavelengths, mainly radar) is the basis for the scientific analyses to develop a (semi-)automatic detection technique, based on the boat’s backscatter patterns.
To create a more realistic simulation of the real situation on the Mediterranean Sea, volunteers are sought to fill up the boat on three different occasions.

Maybe an interesting topic for a seminar, a project work or a bachelor/master thesis? Please feel free to contact us!

What was done so far

Since the beginning of the campaign in late April, the boat has been used to collect satellite data in a two to three day interval; most often with the boat being empty. In early June, a bigger group of volunteers took part in a successful test run with the boat being half full.

On the Mediterranean Sea often involves inflatables of that kind with 100+ refugees. In order to gather realistic data, we need to simulate the real situation and its conditions. To achieve this, there are 30 to 40 volunteers sought-after on board on the following three occasions:

Forschungsprojekt

Ein Forschungsprojekt zur Detektion von Fluchtbooten

Hinter der Aktion „Fluchtboot“ steht ein Forschungsprojekt an der Universität und  Hochschule Oldenburg. Ziel ist es, die sich in ständiger Seenot befindenden Schlauchboote im Mittelmeer mit Hilfe von Satellitendaten zu finden.

Um der seit Jahren andauernden humanitären Katastrophe im Mittelmeer angemessen zu begegnen, gliedert sich dieses Projekt in eine Reihe gleichgearteter Initiativen ein. Neue Methoden der Geoinformatik und der Fernerkundung sollen entwickelt werden. Die praktische Anwendung wird Search&Rescue Missionen vor Ort unterstützen.

Wie soll das funktionieren?

Mit der Aktion „Fluchtboot“ werden mit einem 12 x 3.5 Meter großen Schlauchboot, das von 121 Menschen zur Überfahrt von Libyen nach Italien verwendet wurde, Satellitendaten gesammelt. Als Testgebiet dient der Müggelsee in Berlin.

Die Ausfahrten sind mit den Überflugszeiten von fünf verschiedenen Forschungssatelliten abgestimmt, welche Daten vom Schlauchboot sammeln. Diese Daten (bildgebende Verfahren verschiedener elektromagnetischer Wellenbereiche, hauptsächlich Radar) bilden die Grundlage für die Forschung mit dem Ziel, eine (semi-)automatische Ortung zu entwickeln.
Um möglichst realistische Situationen zu simulieren, benötigen wir Hilfe von Freiwilligen, um das Boot zu füllen.

Wir sind offen für Anfragen bezüglich Seminar-, Projekt- oder Abschlussarbeiten zu diesem Thema und freuen uns über Mails an info@fluchtboot.de

Was bisher geschah

Seit dem Beginn der Kampagne Ende April finden durchschnittlich alle zwei bis drei Tage Datenaufnahmen statt – meist mit leerem Boot.  Anfang Juni fand dann die erste erfolgreiche Ausfahrt mit einer größeren Gruppe von Freiwilligen statt.

Auf dem Mittelmeer befinden sich meist über einhundert Flüchtende an Bord eines solchen Schlauchbootes. Um diese Situation zu simulieren und damit realitätsnahe Daten produzieren zu können, gilt es nun, das Boot mit vielen Menschen zu füllen. Drei Ausfahrten mit 30 bis 40 Freiwilligen sind daher geplant: